© International Fair Play Committee. All rights reserved.
Print this article E-mail

CIFP Conference, General Assembly and World Fair Play Awards Ceremony

CIFP Conference, General Assembly and World Fair Play Awards Ceremony

The CIFP held a sequence of events – Council meeting, Conference, General Assembly and the annual World Fair Play Awards Ceremony- between April 26-28 in Budapest and Gödöllő, Hungary.

On April 26 the Council meeting of CIFP took place in Budapest. The Council observed a moment of silence and remembered Elisabeth Ferris, Council member of CIFP, who recently passed away.
Main decisions that were made at the Council meeting as follows:

  • reports were presented by President Dr. Jenő Kamuti, General Secretary Jean Durry and Treasurer Sunil Sabharwal;
  • Dr. Jenő Kamuti was re-elected for President as well as Jean Durry for General Secretary, Sunil Sabharwal for Treasurer and Norbert Müller for Vice President for another four-year term; four new members have been co-opted to the Council (Albert Buisman, Charles Camenzuli, Oleg Matytsin, Bert Van de Flier);
  • Antonio Spallino was awarded the title of Honorary Vice President of CIFP.

A day later, on April 27, a Conference entitled "Fair Play in the 21st century" was held in Budapest. Nine lecturers, among them Hungarian and international, delivered presentations and attempted to examine the role of fair play on and off the field from different aspects in the present and in the future.
The Conference program was:

  • "Fair play today and tomorrow" Jenő Kamuti, CIFP President.
  • "Fair Play in the Olympic education" Prof. Norbert Müller, CIFP Vice-President.
  • "Mystery of Religion and Fair Play" Ferenc Pál, Catholic priest.
  • "Responsibility of the coach in the passing of fair Play" Lázsló Cserháti, Hungarian coaching Association.
  • "Politics and Fair Play at the Olympics" Rezső Gallov, sport journalist.
  • "Fair play a better society" Péter Farkas, Semmelweis University.
  • "Fair Play promotion at the Youth Olympic Games" Lisa Monarski, Classroom Champions Board of Directors.
  • "Fight against match fixing and illegal gambling" Friederich Stickler, European State Lotteries and Lotto Association President.
  • "Fair Play: a mark of humanity" Maurizio Monego, CIFP Council Member.

You may find the presentation of President Kamuti's here. As far the other lectures are concerned their presentations will be available shortly as well.

The General Assembly was convened on April 28.
The following resolutions and decisions were adopted by the GA:

  • the GA approved the decisions made by the Council with respect to the election of officials for a new four-year term;
  • The GA has decided that the CIFP will celebrate its 50th anniversary on April 2013 in Paris along with the next GA and World Fair Play Awards Ceremony;
  • the GA of CIFP has appealed to all international sports federations and National Olympic Committees to include the indispensability of fair play attitude into their statutes;
  • the so called "Budapest Declaration" was approved;
  • a co-operation agreement was signed by CIFP President Kamuti and the President of the European Fair Play Movement, Carlos Concalves.

The Fair Play Manifesto and also the Fair Play implementation handbook entitled "Fair Play, from an ideal to reality" were also introduced at the GA.
FISU, a partner of CIFP, was represented by its Director of Educational and Development Services, Kolë Gjeloshaj.

In the evening of April 28 the 2011 World Fair Play Awards Ceremony took place in the picturesque Royal Palace of Gödöllő. This was also the closing event of the 33rd Seminar of the European Olympic Committees three-day long meeting in Budapest. EOC President Patrick Hickey and members of the EOC were among the notable guests as well as H.E. Katalin Bogyay, President of the General Conference of UNESCO, Attila Czene, Hungarian State Secretary for Sports, Dr. Tamás Aján, President of the International Weightlifting Federation, Dr. György Gémesi, Mayor of the host city of Gödöllő and last but not least H.E. Ng Ser Miang, Vice President of IOC and Ambassador of Singapore to Hungary and Norway.
The following people were recognized:


Trophy Pierre de Coubertin
Erhan Yavuz – Equestrian, Turkey
Katrin Green – Athletics, Germany
Antonio J. Leal Pina – Fencing, Venezuela
Andy Schleck – Cyclisme, Luxemburg
Ivan Tkachenko – Ice-hockey, Russia
Letter of Congratulations
Turgay Bahadir, Turkey
Damien and Guillermo Benegas, Matias Erroz, Argentina
Sebastian Heiland, Argentina

Trophy Willi Daume
Erika Miklósa – Opera singer, Hungary
Pál Szekeres – Fencing, Hungary
Ben Groen –Barefoot waterskiing, New Zealand
Panathlon Wallonie-Bruxelles – Belgium
Letter of Congratulations
Hadi Saei, Islamic Republic of Iran
Esther Vergeer, Netherlands

Trophy Jean Borotra:
Walter Kilger – Table-tennis, Germany
Laura Vaca Hernandez – Swimming, Mexico