© International Fair Play Committee. All rights reserved.

World Fair Play Award Winners

The prestigious CIFP World Fair Play Awards such as Trophies, Diplomas and Letters of Congratulations are awarded to athletes and private individuals from all over the world selected by the CIFP for their remarkable acts of fair play or outstanding careers conducted in the spirit of fair play. The prize winners include many famous male and female champions as well as lesser-known athletes, beginners and young people. They hold the conviction that fair play is more important than victory at all costs. All of them provide ideal role models for millions of athletes worldwide.

The inaugural World Fair Play Awards Ceremony was held on 29 January 1965 and the first Pierre de Coubertin Fair Play Trophy was awarded to an Italian bobsleigh competitor, Eugenio Monti, for his remarkable act at the Innsbruck Olympic Winter Games in 1964. During the two-men bobsleigh final he produced excellent timing. Only the British Tony Nash and his partner could have defeated his team and, thanks to his sporting behaviour, that is what finally happened. Monti was aware that Nash had broken a part of his sledge and without hesitation he detached the same part of his own vehicle and lent it to his rivals who went on to achieve a record time and won the gold medal.

Since then, a number of outstanding personalities, teams and organisations have received the CIFP World Fair Play Prizes. Among the winners are Sergey Bubka (athletics), Kipchoge Keino (athletics), Emil Zatopek (athletics), László Papp (boxing), Miguel Indurain (cycling), Sir Bobby Charlton (football), Wayne Gretzky (ice-hockey), Stefan Edberg (tennis), Pete Sampras (tennis) and L'Equipe (newspaper) to name but a few.