© International Fair Play Committee. All rights reserved.
Print this article E-mail

Djokovic and Pellegrini winners of AIPS Europe 2011 Athletes of the Year Awards

Djokovic and Pellegrini winners of AIPS Europe 2011 Athletes of the Year Awards

MALTA , January 2, 2012 – Tennis ace from Serbia NOVAK DJOKOVIC and
Italian swimmer FEDERICA PELLEGRINI are the winners in the 2011 edition of
the European Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year Awards . It was the
29th annual poll conducted by AIPS EUROPE - UEPS.

AIPS Europe is the biggest continental section of AIPS and was established in
1977 at the AIPS Congress in Milano Marittima.

Since 2003, the annual poll was named the Frank Taylor Trophy in honour of
the former president of both AIPS and UEPS.

Novak Djokovic, nr.1 in the world of tennis won the award with 97 votes
followed by Formula 1 champion Sebastian Vettell with 48 votes, basketball
player from Germany Dirk Nowitzki got 34 votes.

The women's award for the Evgen Bergant Trophy was won by Italian swimming
star Federica Pellegrini with 71 votes followed by tennis player Petra
Kvitova from the Czech Republic with 50 votes and Nordic Ski ace from
Norway Marit Bjoergen obtained 43 votes.



MEN - Frank Taylor Trophy

2011 Novak Djokovic (Serbja) tennis

2010 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Formula 1 motor racing

2009 Roger Federer (Switzerland) tennis

2008 Rafael Nadal (Spain) tennis

2007 Roger Federer (Switzerland) tennis

2006 Roger Federer (Switzerland) tennis

2005 Roger Federer (Switzerland) tennis

2004 Roger Federer (Switzerland) tennis

2003 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Formula 1 motor racing

2002 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Formula 1 motor racing

2001 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Formula 1 motor racing

2000 Pieter van Hoogenband (Netherland) swimming

1999 Tomas Dvorak (Czech Republic) athletics

1998 Bjoern Daehlie (Norway) cross country skiing

1997 Wilson Kipketer (Denmark) athletics

1996 Alexander Popov (Russia) swimming

1995 Jonathan Edwards (Great Britain) athletics

1994 Michael Schumacher (Germany) Formula 1 motor racing

1993 Linford Christie (Great Britain) athletics

1992 Vitaly Scherbo (Commonwealth of the Independent States)

1991 Sergey Bubka (Soviet Union) athletics

1990 Lothar Matthaeus (Germany) football

1989 Boris Becker (Germany) tennis

1988 Sergey Bubka (Soviet Union) athletics

1987 Stephen Roche (Ireland) cycling

1986 Boris Becker (Germany) tennis

1985 Sergey Bubka (Soviet Union) athletics

1984 Michel Platini (France) football

1983 Michael Gross (Germany) swimming


WOMEN - Evgen Bergant Trophy

2011 Federica Pellegrini (Italy) swimming

2010 Blanka Vlasic (Croatia) athletics

2009 Blanka Vlasic (Croatia) athletics

2008 Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia) athletics

2007 Justine Henin (Belgium) tennis

2006 Justine Henin-Hardenne (Belgium) tennis

2005 Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia) athletics

2004 Kelly Holmes (Great Britain) athletics

2003 Justine Henin-Hardenne (Belgium) tennis

2002 Justine Henin-Hardenne (Belgium) tennis

2001 Svetlana Khorkina (Russia) gymnastics

2000 Inge de Bruijn (Netherland) swimming

1999 Gabriela Szabo (Romania) athletics

1998 Larissa Lazutina (Russia) cross-country skiing

1997 Martina Hingis (Switzerland) tennis

1996 Svetlana Masterkova (Russia) athletics

1995 Steffi Graf (Germany) tennis

1994 Manuela Di Centa (Italy) cross-country skiing

1993 Franziska van Almsick (Germany) swimming

1992 Krisztina Egerszegi (Hungary) swimming

1991 Monica Seles (Yugoslavia) tennis

1990 Katrin Krabbe (Germany) athletics

1989 Steffi Graf (Germany) tennis

1988 Kristin Otto (GDR) swimming

1987 Steffi Graf (Germany) tennis

1986 Heike Drechsler (GDR) athletics

1985 Marita Koch (GDR) athletics

1984 Marja-Liisa Kirvesniemi (Finland) cross-country skiing

1983 Jarmila Kratochvilova (Czechoslovakia) athletics

(Source: AIPS)