© International Fair Play Committee. All rights reserved.
Print this article E-mail

Fair Play Awards –“Beijing 2.0” - Press Release

Fair Play award returns to Beijing for the Olympic Winter Games

The International Fair Play Committee (CIFP) – in collaboration with the International Olympic Committee (IOC) – will honour exceptional acts of sportsmanship during the Olympic Winter Games Beijing 2022 through the Fair Play award.

The CIFP first presented the Fair Play awards at the Olympic Games Beijing 2008, and thus, the award returns to Beijing this time. 

Nominations are now open, and entries are invited from National Olympic Committees, International Federations, athletes, coaches, as well as the public watching the Games around the world. Nominations can be submitted through the CIFP website and social media channels. 

Due to the ongoing global pandemic, this is the second time that the award will be conferred virtually, after Tokyo 2020. The Fair Play winners of Tokyo 2020 were the finalists in the Women’s Park Skateboarding event, for lifting fellow skater Misugu Okamoto after a fall.

IOC President Thomas Bach said: “The fair play award is about the ideals and values of sport. Sport teaches us to aspire for excellence in all our activities; living in peace, friendship, and solidarity with our neighbours; to respect ourselves and others and to live by the spirit of fair play in everything we do. Sport is about more than just competition. This is what we witnessed at the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020, and look forward to at Beijing 2022.

A jury composed of representatives of CIFP, IOC, athletes and the media will make the final decision, based on a shortlist derived from the public voting. The winner will be announced shortly after the conclusion of the Olympic Winter Games.

We are very happy to be back, even if virtually, at the Winter Olympics in Beijing,” said CIFP President Dr. Jeno Kamuti, himself a previous award-winner. “We are extremely pleased to be working again with the IOC on this very important topic and award! I encourage all members of the Olympic family, including the media, to participate actively in submitting nominations in order to raise the awareness of these incredible acts of sportsmanship

Sunil Sabharwal, CIFP Secretary General added, “Given that the first-ever winner of the Fair Play award was a winter sports athlete – Eugenio Monti, a bob-sledder from Italy – we are thrilled that we continue this tradition of being actively involved with the Winter Games.

For further information, visit www.fairplayinternational.org and submit your nominations via the following e-mail: fairplaybeijing@fairplayinternational.org, or any of our social media channels below:

Facebook   Instagram   Twitter   LinkedIn   YouTube


CIFP is an IOC-recognized organization created in 1963 to promote the ideals of fair play on the sports field and beyond. Apart from its traditional award events, it promotes educational initiatives aimed at educating the youth worldwide.

Photo source: IOC Facebook